I don’t know what to write, but I want to say,

Dear Rest of the World,

I’m so sorry.

When you wrote me eight years ago to ecstatically congratulate me and us

and US,

I congratulated us too!

I knew it was only the beginning, not arrival,

but still, what a surprise and joy it was

to begin, to be reborn a country with a heart

 

For America to elect a Black president

I will always see as something great

 

but now what have we done?!

where have we arrived?

For America to elect an Orange president…

My horror is too great for the joke

 

Dear Rest of the World,

Believe me.

There are more of us here than you realize,

living in deep shock

We forget for a moment

Then are back, sitting on the floor

leaning against the couch

running fingers through our hair

We sat at long holiday tables

and fumed at spineless moderates

who knew better

We stand in morning kitchens

and watch tiny Tvs

and rurmors of recounts

and try to percolate a sip of hope

but every day our tiny little orange boy stomps his tweet

louder and LOUDER

and scares the living crap out of us

and I don’t know what I want to write

but I think I want to say

Come,

Meet me friend outside the twitterverse

Let’s walk up into the hills,

curving away from the sunset

feet on soft redwood ground

feet on soft redwood ground.

3 responses »

  1. blockquote, div.yahoo_quoted { margin-left: 0 !important; border-left:1px #715FFA solid !important; padding-left:1ex !important; background-color:white !important; } Thank you for this, Evan! Thank you! Congratulations on your job. It’s probably been awhile now.  I always enjoy reading your writing.  I’m on my fourth year teaching the same grade – TK/kinder at the same school and I’m starting to feel like I’m getting a groove. Sierra and Melia now 10 and 7 started attending last year so we all go to the same school now.  I am part of a writers group up here though we are only meeting monthly this year as opposed to weekly last year.  Can’t believe how many years ago our sequoia days were.  Hope all is well in your home and work life. For me it is. I know your big picture world like mine has been turned upside down.  What were/ are people thinking?  An orange president – an apt description. Thanks again!CarlaPs we still talk about getting our own family poetry cafe going based on the one you wrote about years ago. 

    Sent from Yahoo Mail for iPhone

  2. Julie Fox Blackshaw says:

    Hey Mr. Peabody, Great Post!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Just Jan says:

    December 1, 1955 Rosa Parks refused to sit in the back of the bus.
    December 1, 2016 Appointed Advisor White Supremist Brannon makes more plans for the tiny psycho orange boy in The Tower to follow.
    The streets have plenty of room for all of us.
    How about we all meet up there.

Leave a Reply

